Student Association

AUIS students elect their Student Association every year through voting.

In November of 2013, students of the American University of Iraq, Sulaimani voted by a nearly four-to-one margin to approve the student body’s first constitution. Free and fair elections have been held in November of 2013 and 2014, with the third election scheduled for November of this year.

The Student Association, officially known as the The Student Advisory Council, brings issues and proposals to the AUIS administration, which retains the right to make final decisions and approvals. The constitution states the Student Association will be composed of the Senate and Executive Board comprised of a president, vice-president and secretary. Each academic department with more than 25 students will elect two senators, who will have the power to raise motions and vote. The president will be directly elected by the entire student body, while the vice-president and secretary will be chosen by the Senate. It is the duty of all Senators to listen and address all student concerns, not only those relevant to their department.

The preamble of the Constitution of the American University of Iraq, Sulaimani Student Association states:

"WE, the students of the American University of Iraq, Sulaimani, in order to represent the voice of the student body, to advance the interests and promote the welfare of the student body, to become an organ of the self-determination of the student body, to uphold and recognize the responsibilities of students to the university, subject to the authority of the AUIS Administration and by this Constitution, do hereby establish the American University of Iraq, Sulaimani Student Association."

This Student Association shall not discriminate on the basis of race, ethnicity, sex, religion, creed, national origin, gender identity, disability, age, economic or social status, political opinions or affiliations, major or minor.

Student Association 2016-17

The following senators were elected to represent the AUIS student body for the academic year 2016-17 in November, 2016 Student Association elections. 

Senator Department
Botan Sherbazheri President 
Mohammed Baddeea Engineering
Mohammed Seerwan Engineering
Chra Hussain Information Technology
Banu Bakr Information Technology 
Hogar Hadi International Studies
Mohammed Salh International Studies
Asia Ahsan Business Studies
Karzan Afraseiyo Business Studies
Sara Aso English 
Pewist Salih English
Kandish Kawa Academic Preparatory Program
Supa Shakali Academic Preparatory Program

Student Association 2015-16

Daban Najmadeen




Daban Mustafa
Vice President
Senator for Business Administration



Avan M. Kurbani
Senator for Business Administration



Shatoo Diyar

Senator for Social Sciences





Hazhy Rozh
Senator for Engineering




Brwa Ali Fatah
Senator for First Year




Shkar Agha
Senator for Information Technology




Akam Ali
Senator for Information Technology




Meer Hiwa
Senator for Academic Preparatory Program (APP)